It is said that Fasbourn Hall was named after Geoffrey Fausebroun, rector of Buxhall St Mary’s Church in the fourteenth century. Built on a site of possible Roman occupation, the hall was the Manor of Buxhall and is mentioned in the Court Rolls in the times of Queen Mary and Elizabeth as being ‘in the hands of the lord.’ In 1512 it formed part of the estate of Sir William Copinger, Lord Mayor of London, and the Copinger family continued their association until shortly after the death of W. A Copinger in 1910.
In common with many similar estates, the fortunes of Fasbourn have waxed and waned over the centuries: from probable beginnings as a traditional timber-framed Suffolk farmhouse, it was significantly extended and gentrified in the Georgian period, and changed yet again in the Victorian age, by which time its status as the Manor house had recinded and it was regarded as a large farmhouse with up to 500 acres of land. The moated and walled gardens are probably a combination of medieval and Georgian planning, and the stunning bridge over the front moat is almost certainly medieval. Evidence exists of an East Wing, long since disappeared, which would have made the house a classic ‘E-shaped’ Elizabethan design. After a century of farming and occupation by the Brooke and Davies families, Clive and Nicky Fisher purchased the house, farm buildings and remaining 26 acres in 2010 and have undertaken painstaking repairs and restoration to share this fascinating story with guests today.